Reply To: Introduction Module 1

Home Forums Module 1 Forum Introduction Module 1 Reply To: Introduction Module 1

Hi all ! My name is Hoeung HEAM. You can call me Hoeung. I am from Cambodia. Currently, I am Chair of the Cambodia Physical Therapy Association (CPTA). I have about 22 years experience working directly and indirectly in rehabilitation sector in my country. I first started with an international organization as a physiotherapy for center and community-based rehabilitation in the Eastern part of the country with later two promoted positions. However, in 2010, I moved to another international organization with a new role as a rehabilitation project manager where I took 50% of my time overseeing a rehabilitation center providing service to an about 2 million population geographic area, and another 50% for working with national governmental and nongovernmental stakeholders. I learnt a lot from this my role and responsibilities for that almost two years before turning myself to be an academic student once again. In 2015, I started to work more on program management, project evaluation, and research in health, rehabilitation, and disability. Presently, represent CPTA, I am working with working group of the Ministry of Health to develop health guidelines and policies for hospital management and service, including rehabilitation.

I am very happy to be selected to this course. I hope that after the completion of this course, I will be able to:
1) understand better the of rehabilitation in health system, including the principles and theories behind,
2) Learn cost-effective models have been experimented and used that potentially be replicate in Cambodia,
3) Build network and strong support from rehabilitation in health system peers, academia, agencies, alliances